Michelle Ann Kratts

The forgotten ones

In Family Scrapbook, The Italians of Niagara Falls, New York, Who Do You Think They Are? on January 22, 2014 at 5:13 pm

We all have those boxes of photographs…the ones that grandma left behind.   The ones that no one knows anything about.  Who are they?  We recognize faces and expressions as if they are our own and see these lost souls in our children’s eyes.

Patricia DiNieri asked if I would share her forgotten ones.  There are a few notations on the backs of her photographs but often the notations only provide more mystery.

Let us know if you recognize anyone.  She feels that most of these photographs are of people related to the Scalzo or Critelli families and many of them were probably taken in Gimigliano, Italy.  These people are most likely related to the Scalzos of Niagara Falls, New York.

And, please, send me JPEGs of your own “forgotten ones” to include on this blog.  Maybe we can finally bring them back to life.

two

Possibly Fred Scalzo on right, his father on left. They last lived in Akron, Ohio.

three

Fred Scalzo?

onefour

five

Cornelia?

sixseven

  1. Can’t say I recognize the names or faces, but if they were from Gimigliano they must be related. In some of the old Scalzo pictures I can see some resemblance to me or my family members but not in these…

    • The picture is of Thomas Scalzo(left) at his wedding in 1913. He is the brother of my grandfather Frederick Gaeton Scalzo. Frederick moved to Gouvernour, New York, when he was 10, married Letitia and had 3 sons (including Joseph, my dad)

  2. I would like to be connected with – Patricia DiNieri – If these are her photos. My Grandfather’s Aunt Mary and his Mom Angelina were Critelli’s- Mary married a Scalzo. and Angelina married a Scarpino. We are Scarpino’s – from the Niagara falls, ny area. My grandfathers family from Sersale, cantanzaro area. I really don’t have much on the Critelli side. One of his cousins was Dominic Critelli, Another Sammy Scalzo

    • This is wonderful! I will get you in touch with Patricia. She will be excited!

    • Dear Cyndi,
      I don’t know whether this will help, but here’s the only information I know. In high school (1960) I dated a fellow named Joe Biamonte. His father’s aunt was named Mary Scalzo. Joe’s father, mother and sister were still living in Italy at that time. I don’t remember the name of the town, but it was definitely southern Italy. Joe worked as a baker at Critelli’s bakery on 19th and Ferry Streets. Mary Scalzo lived on the corner of 23rd St. and LaSalle Ave. Mary and her husband had 3 adult children. One was named Anne Scalzo Sbarbati. Her husband was Joseph Sbarbati, a prominent attorney. Mary Scalzo’s best friend was Teresa “Honey” Pacifico. She started Honey’s Pizzeria in Niagara Falls. I hope this will give you some leads.

Leave a Reply

